www.411mania.com
|  News |  Columns |  Reports |  Video Reviews |  Title History |  News Report |
SPOTLIGHTS  SPOTLIGHTS
MOVIES/TV
// San Diego Comic Con Wrap-Up: Avengers 2, Wonder Woman Costume, Batman v. Superman, More
MUSIC
// Aubrey O'Day Rocks Some Great Cleavage in Instagram Selfie
WRESTLING
// Sting to Be in Los Angeles For SummerSlam
MMA
// Is Fighting Ronda Rousey First in Gina Carano’s Best Interest?
GAMES
// Name of Next Assassin's Creed Xbox 360, PS3 Game Leaked?


SYNDICATE  SYNDICATE



411mania RSS Feeds





Follow 411mania on Twitter!




Add 411 On Facebook
 


 
 411mania » MMA » News

Advertisement
Luiz Dutra Addresses UFC Fight Night 34 DQ Loss and Illegal Elbows
Posted by Jeffrey Harris on 01.05.2014



UFC fighter Luiz Dutra recently addressed his loss by disqualification to Kiichi Kunimoto at UFC Fight Night 34 on Saturday (Jan. 4) in Singapore. Dutra was disqualified after hitting Dutra to the back of the head with illegal elbow strikes. Below are some highlights:

Dutra on the ending sequence: "I think he really felt the first elbow. I think the first two may have been legal, but I haven't watched the video yet. I should have remained patient at that moment, especially since he was nearly giving up. He knew he couldn't take me down, and I was frustrating his plans. I should have remained calm so I could have fought better."

Dutra on his mistake: "I was in a rush to end the fight soon and prove that I belong in the UFC. I felt he was weakening, so I continued throwing elbows. I ended up making a mistake in the heat of the moment. It's not acceptable to me that someone who's experienced and has been fighting for so many years should make this type of error. I always try to fight clean, within the rules. Making this type of error bothered me a lot."

Dutra claiming Kunimoto was exaggerating the elbow strikes: "He exaggerated for a fact," Dutra said. "As I see it, he could have returned. He didn't return, I believe, because I was making things hard for him since I figured him out. … In truth, he played it up to some extent. But there's no room for opinion because the rule is clear: Strikes to the back of the head are illegal. My intent was to soften him up after I stifled his takedown attempt. I made a mistake. As I said before, the error is mine. The rule is clear, so the disqualification is fair, whether he played it up or not. Whether or not he came back, the fault was mine. I assume full responsibility."

Dutra on wanting a rematch with Kunimoto: "I believe that he didn't want to win like that. I'm not here to judge anyone since I'm in the wrong, but I would very much like to face him again."

Credit: MMAjunkie





MUST-READ 411 STORIES:

Why WrestleMania 31 Needs A Plan B

Top 10 Iconic TV Vehicles

Nikki Bella Instagrams Bikini Pics


comments powered by Disqus







www.41mania.com
Copyright (c) 2011 411mania.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
Click here for our privacy policy. Please help us serve you better, fill out our survey.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to our terms of use.