|  News |  Columns |  TV Reports |  Video Reviews |  Title History |  Hall of Fame |  News Report |  The Dunn List |
// New Clip, TV Spot & Stills Released For Gotham
// Miley Cyrus Wears Giant Fake Butt In New Instagram Videos
// Click HERE To Join 411’s LIVE TNA Impact Coverage
// Fedor Emelianenko Says He's Not Making a Comeback
// 2K Announces New WWE Supercard Updates

//  CM Punk
//  John Cena
//  Triple H
//  Hulk Hogan
//  Randy Orton
//  Christian

411mania RSS Feeds

Follow 411mania on Twitter!

Add 411 On Facebook

 411mania » Wrestling » News

National Wrestling Hall of Fame Class of 2013 Announced
Posted by Larry Csonka on 01.22.2013

- The National Wrestling Hall of Fame sent out the following today…
WATERLOO, Iowa—The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum has finalized the Class of 2013 for the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame. This will be the 15th class inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame weekend will take place July 12-13 in Waterloo, Iowa.

Ric Flair, "Cowboy" Bill Watts, and Chris Taylor (posthumously) were chosen by the selection committee to enter the Hall of Fame. Criteria for induction into the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame include substantial impact on professional wrestling, general respect within the profession, and a strong amateur wrestling background. The selection committee includes all living hall of fame members as well as a select group of wrestling historians.

A special committee also selects four award winners to enter the Hall of Fame. This year's award winners include Edge (Adam Copeland), Jim Brunzell, Matt Hughes, and George Napolitano.

"This is a special class of inductees," said Gerry Brisco, a member of the Tragos/Thesz Hall of Fame and a member of the special selection committee. "Each person being inducted has taken the profession to new heights. I look forward to being back in Waterloo, Iowa, for this year's Hall of Fame weekend."

Adam Copeland will receive the Lou Thesz Award, which is given to an individual in wrestling who has taken the skills of the profession into the realm of public service. Copeland (known as Edge) held 31 championships in the WWE, including 11 world championships. He is also one of three wrestlers who have held every currently active male championship in the WWE.

Jim Brunzell will receive the Frank Gotch Award for bringing positive recognition to professional wrestling through work outside the ring. The former AWA star was part of the "High Flyers," a tag team that included Greg Gagne. Brunzell also had a very successful run in the WWE as one half of the Killer Bees tag team with Brian Blair.

Diamond Dallas Page will receive the Frank Gotch Award in 2014.

Matt Hughes will receive the George Tragos Award, given to an exceptionally competitive wrestler who adapted his wrestling skills and competitive nature to excel in Mixed Martial Arts. Hughes is a nine-time World Welterweight Champion of the UFC, with a 45-9 career record. He was also a two-time Division I wrestling All-American for Eastern Illinois in the 158 pound weight class.

The Jim Melby Award recognizes excellence in professional wrestling journalism. George Napolitano, this year's recipient, specialized in professional wrestling photography. He has authored several pictorial books, including "Hot Shots and High Spots", "Wrestling Heroes and Villains", "This is Wrestling!", and "The Pictorial History of Wrestling: The Good the Bad and the Ugly" (with Bert Randolph Sugar).

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum is selling 50 all-access passes to the George Tragos Lou Thesz/Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame weekend in advance of the event for $100 each. The all-access pass includes:

--Front row ticket to the Impact Pro Wrestling Show on Friday night with Colt Cabana and professional wrestling legends.

--Ticket to the talent evaluation seminar led by Hall of Famer Gerry Brisco.

--General admission ticket to Saturday's autograph signing at the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum.

--Special closed door reception with several members of the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame.

--Ticket to the Hall of Fame induction banquet featuring acceptance speeches from the 2013 induction class.

--Copy of the 2013 George Tragos/Lou Thesz Hall of Fame DVD.

All-access passes will ship on April 1.

For more information contact the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum at (319) 233-0745 or dgmstaff@nwhof.org.

Must-read wrestling news:
* Updated WWE Royal Rumble card
* Second member of 2013 WWE Hall of Fame Class announced
* Promo for next week's Raw
* 411 Wrestler of the Week
* 411's WWE Raw report


Top 5 Comics That Need to Be Shows

Did Marvel's Original Sin Story Deliver?

Curvy Babe Instagrams Hot New Pics

comments powered by Disqus

Copyright (c) 2011 411mania.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
Click here for our privacy policy. Please help us serve you better, fill out our survey.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to our terms of use.