www.411mania.com
|  News |  Columns |  TV Reports |  Video Reviews |  Title History |  Hall of Fame |  News Report |  The Dunn List |
SPOTLIGHTS  SPOTLIGHTS
MOVIES/TV
// The Top 5 Summer 2014 Movies
MUSIC
// Nicki Minaj Shows Off Epic Cleavage On Instagram
WRESTLING
// Csonka Reviews: WWE NXT 8.28.14
MMA
// 411's MMA Roundtable Preview - UFC 177: Dillashaw vs. Barao II
GAMES
// Assassin's Creed Unity Pushed Back To November 11




 HOT TOPICS
//  CM Punk
//  John Cena
//  Triple H
//  Hulk Hogan
//  Randy Orton
//  Christian
SYNDICATE  SYNDICATE



411mania RSS Feeds





Follow 411mania on Twitter!




Add 411 On Facebook
 


 
 411mania » Wrestling » Video Reviews

Advertisement
Views from the Hawke's Nest: Kevin Steen - Package Piledrive Everyone Disc 1
Posted by TJ Hawke on 07.07.2014






CZW High Stakes
September 11, 2004


Kevin Steen vs. El Generico vs. Sexxy Eddy vs. Excess 69
This is an infamous wrestling match that I have never seen before now (April, 2014).

This should be bananas. I抦 not sure how much recapping I抦 going to be doing for this match. They did so many movez. Excess hit an apron swinging DDT on Steen. Sexxy Eddy botched a split-legged moonsault on Steen after successfully doing one to Excess. Steen and Generico did a nifty sequence. Steen hit a tope con hello on Eddy, and his bounced off the floor. Generico followed that with a Fosbury Flop. Steenerico blocked a dive from Excess, and Eddy then did an Asai Moonsault where he ended up in the crowd. They went back to doing movez in the ring. Eddy murdered Generico with a German. They hit some finishing movez. Steen hit one the coolest package piledrivers I have ever seen on Eddy, but Eddy got his arm under the ropes to stay alive. Steen gave Excess a diving gutbuster and a beautiful moonsault, but Eddy made the save. Eddy got a Steenalyzer for his insolence. Generico dropped Steen on his head with a half-nelson and then gave Excess a turnbuckle brainbuster that caused Excess to fall to the floor. Generico then dropped Eddy on his head on the turnbuckle. Insanity. I have never seen that spot before. Eddy came back with a lariat and Total Sextacy: 123!

I totally get why this match would seem 搊ver the top and considered to be 搊verboard at the time, but I honestly did not bat an eyelash at all the shit they did. That抯 not to say it hasn抰 aged well, but what may have seemed excessive at time feels relatively common now. In fact, I think this style of match has largely been improved upon since this time because these types of multiple person matches usually are much, much shorter.
Match Rating: ***1/2



CZW Best of the Best
May 14, 2005


Chris Hero vs. Kevin Steen
This was a semi-final match in the 2005 Best of the Best tournament. Hero attacked Steen during Steen抯 entrance. Hero was mostly in control after that. After a very long and very dull heat segment, Steen finally caught Hero with a superkick to stop his momentum. Steen hit a SPRINGBOARD dropkick, but Hero then poked him in the eyes. Hero hit a folding powerbomb for a nearfall, and Steen then came back with a release German for a nearfall. Steen then hit a moonsault for a nearfall. This CZW crowd is so dead. Hero reversed a Package Piledriver into an Alabama Slam. Hero then hit a double stomp and diving elbow. That got a nearfall. They avoided each other抯 finishers and Steen caught him with a sunset flip pin: 123.

This crowd was like a WWE PPV crowd for most Divas matches. On the bright side, I got to see Steen hit a springboard dropkick! I抦 not really sure why this match was included on the set.
Match Rating: *



CZW Déjà vu
August 14, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. Franky The Mobster [CZW Iron Man Championship]
Franky The Mobster is so much smaller here. I honestly am finding it hard to believe that they are the same person. Steen was supposed to have a shot at B-Boy for the Iron Man title at one point, but Franky replaced him for some reason and won the belt. Steen is finally getting his shot.

There was a lot of gaga early on. Steen got control and worked Franky over. Franky came back with a Deadman suicida. Franky was in control for a while after that. Steen eventually caught him with a Flatliner and then made a comeback. Franky avoided a Package Piledriver by backdropping him on a turnbuckle. Steen landed on his dome for that one. Steen came back with a lariat for a nearfall. Franky avoided a moonsault and hit a diving Blockbuster for another nearfall. Franky and Steen traded low blows. Steen rolled through a chokeslam and hit a Package Piledriver: 123! That was a nifty little sequence to finish the match.

While this match had only slightly more heat than the Hero match, I did find the work way more engaging and interesting. This was by far the best singles match I抳e seen from Franky The Mobster.
Match Rating: **1/2



IWA Mid-South Ted Petty Invitational
September 23, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. Nate Webb
This was a first round match in the IWA-MS TPI.

Nate Webb was channeling Paul London with his ring entrance. Well, given when this match happened, one could argue Paul London has been channeling Nate Webb抯 ring entrance ever since. Steen joined in on the fun and apparently tweaked his knee when he did a moonsault for no reason. The match started with noogies. Perhaps these Nate Webb mind games were working, because Webb ran through Steen a bit. Steen cut him off with a big boot and then worked Webb over. Steen came up empty on a moonsault, and that gave Webb and opportunity to come back. Webb avoided one package piledriver attempt, but he fell victim to Steen抯 second attempt: 123

The gaga before the match really did a lot to get the crowd invested in the match. While the action was not breathtaking or anything, Steen and Webb really did have a fair amount of chemistry. I enjoyed this.
Match Rating: **1/2



IWA Mid-South Ted Petty Invitational
September 24, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. Brad 揃rad Bradley Bradley
This was the quarterfinal of the same IWA-MS TPI.

Neither man could get a decisive advantage for a while. The match was being worked at a methodical pace. Bradley does not seem as technically proficient as he would become in later years. Steen got a nearfall with a missile dropkick. Bradley came back with a Michinoku Driver for a nearfall. The crowd rallied behind Steen after that. Steen then got a Crucifix Driver: 123

This was another fun little match that the crowd got into more and more as the match went on. It was a typical early in the day tournament match.
Match Rating: **1/2



IWA Mid-South Ted Petty Invitational
September 24, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. Mike Quackenbush
This was a semifinal match from the same IWA-MS TPI.

Quack came out selling his arm. Steen attacked him during the entrance and went after the injured arm. Steen was in control for a while. He relentlessly attacked the injured arm. They ended up on the floor, and Quack finally got some momentum after dropkicking Steen into some chairs. That went away as soon as they got back in the ring though, as Steen went right back to work on the injured arm. Quack got a sleeper out of nowhere though and then was able to make a big comeback. They did a reversal sequence that concluded with a package piledriver from Steen: 123!

I greatly enjoyed this match. Steen抯 strategy was completely logical and well executed. As usual, Quack was on point and made Steen look great. This was Steen抯 best match of the tournament by far at this point.
Match Rating: ***1/4



IWA Mid-South Ted Petty Invitational
September 24, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. Matt Sydal
This was the finals of the same IWA-MS TPI. TPI finals are normally triple threats, but Arik Cannon was not able to compete. This match has a high probability of awesome.

Steen was in control at the start. He beat the crud out of Sydal for a long time. Sydal eventually connected on a swinging DDT out of nowhere, but Steen cut him right off after that. Arik Cannon showed up with his arm wrapped up.

Kevin Steen vs. Matt Sydal vs. Arik Cannon
Steen attacked Cannon and gave him a package piledriver: 123. Well, that was fast.

Sydal tried to catch Steen with a schoolboy, but Steen survived and cut him off again. Steen worked him over even more. Steen choked Sydal with his own merch. Sydal eventually managed to land a few strikes that sent Steen to the floor. Sydal then took him out with a twisting moonsault. Back in the ring, Steen hit an Air Raid Crash for a nearfall. Steen then hit a Liger Bomb: 12匩O! Sydal reversed a package piledriver into a hurricanrana pin: 12匩O! Spinning heel kick from Sydal! Holy fuck, Steen hit a 450: 12匩O! Steen called for a package piledriviver from the top rope, but Sydal knocked him off. Shooting star press: 123!

Well, this was just lovely in every way.
Match Rating: ***3/4



CZW Point of No Return
October 8, 2005


Kevin Steen vs. El Generico [CZW Iron Man Championship]
This is a rivalry that I could have never gotten sick of at all. This match started way slower than you would expect from these two. Steen hit a slingshot pescado. Steen was in control for a while after that. After a very long time, Generico came back with a Fosbury Flop. Generico avoided a package piledriver but then ate a gigantic backbreaker. Generico came back with a Yakuza and a half-nelson suplex: 12匩O! Generico hit another a Yakuza, but Steen came right back with a frog splash: 12匩O! Steen dropped him on his head with a German and then hit the package piledriver: 123!

This is an in-ring rivalry that I don't think I could ever get sick of. This match started a little bit slower than I expected from them, but they really turned it on down the stretch. It's always a treat to get to watch a match from these two that I've never seen before.
Match Rating: ***1/2



Thanks everybody for reading! You can send feedback to my Twitter or to my email address: Shabang728@gmail.com. Also, feel free to check out my own wrestling website, FreeProWrestling.com. Also, check out my Best of Chikara blog and an archive of all my 411 video reviews.


The 411: This "disc" was actually the first MP4 of three that Highspots released based on their three disc Kevin Steen set. At the moment, I'm not planning on purchasing disc 2 or 3. However, that reflects my desire to watch all the DVDs/MP4s that I own and have yet to watch before I buy more, and not a reflection on the quality/value of this disc. This set was worth the five dollars for sure. I got to watch eight Kevin Steen matches that I had never seen before (the first match in particular had been on my list for a while), and I enjoyed almost all of them. Buy this MP4 right here.
 
Final Score:  7.0   [ Good ]  legend





MUST-READ 411 STORIES:

10 Coolest Things About Man Of Steel

Henderson v. Anjos: Stopped Too Early?

dos Anjos: Never Sleep on Underdogs


comments powered by Disqus












www.41mania.com
Copyright (c) 2011 411mania.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
Click here for our privacy policy. Please help us serve you better, fill out our survey.
Use of this site signifies your agreement to our terms of use.